top of page

Thursday's Traveler

Updated: May 13, 2018

Hello hello, welcome to my first #ThursdaysTraveler Study abroad edition, I love to travel and I want others to be inspired to travel. Our first feature is Ebonie Glenn read about her experience in Costa Rica, what she did and some advice she would give to others who want to travel.



"I decided to study abroad because it was one of the goals had a previously set for myself in 2016. I wanted to be the first one in my immediate family to study a language as an “extranjera”. This would be my first time traveling outside of the US and by plane.This experience has taught me so much. Firstly, it has taught me to be independent. Growing up I have always depended on my mom and granny with money, transportation and other necessities and wants. However, for this trip, I had to pay on my own (with the help of financial aid). Also navigating a city and country without the help of others has also taught me that I can do anything I set my mind to. I have visited 4 provinces out of 7 here in Costa Rica and the majority of them I have traveled with other Friends from the program. Secondly, it has taught me to appreciate the things I cherish and love back home. Being away from my family and friends for a month and a half has had its ups and downs. However, my Sol family (the program) and

my host family have treated me as their own. Lastly, this trip has taught me to be open-minded. Never to set limits for my capabilities because I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.The thing that inspired me to go to Costa Rica and study abroad is the fact that I want to be as fluent that I can be in Spanish. I have always been interested in Spanish ever since my first class in elementary school. I wanted to emerge myself in another culture which definitely made me appreciate the language and its hablantes (native speakers). I wanted to continue my studies outside of the mundane classroom and experience life as a student studying Spanish in Costa Rica. Costa Rica is a beautiful country with an abundant amount of wildlife, rainforest, mountains, beaches, and rich culture. I am happy that I chose Costa Rica as my first country to study in.The advice I would give to travelers is to always be alert.

Always know where your belongings are because in a blink of an eye they can be stolen. Keep your things in arms reach. Also, be polite and open to try new things. Do not miss out on an opportunity to try a native dish or dance because you are too unsure. Just do it. I was so scared to zip-line my first excursion in Costa Rica but I am so glad that I did because the experience was unforgettable. In addition, at least know the basics of the country’s language you are traveling too. Gratefully most Costa Ricans under 30 speak English but majority do not. This varies depending on the country and language."






4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page