top of page

Reflecting on my first year of Graduate School

I officially finished my first year of grad school.Yaayy! Overall the year was very challenging to say the same. I moved to another city and started off, yes to fresh new beginnings. Although there are some things about grad school that they don't tell you.

My first semester;

Really trying to navigate how to take these courses because in graduate school you usually take 3 courses which is 9 hours and that is considered full time. Navigating that and if you are working an assistantship really becomes challenging.

Time management is everything because you can just try to skate through grad school but when the test, and assignments come up you may end up becoming overwhelmed. I really would suggest creating a to- do - list so that you won't forget what you are doing.

Another thing about graduate school is that it could be so lonely. ( honestly being transparent) moving to another city and being ready to just tackle the world, and maybe the community. It is really hard to find friends if you don't know anyone whether in your classes or in the community.

I believe this is different for everyone depending on how you approach loneliness, and make friends. If you are a person who likes to be around people and doing things make sure you put that in account when looking at places you want to go to graduate school.( I can do another post on that of recommendations and tips let me know )

Although I did good my first semester I honestly gave up towards the end, I came to a point of I didn't know what I wanted to do. I kept questioning rather or not I wanted this to be in my career. I kept reevaluating my passions and purpose in life, I am still looking into it. I have figured out somethings ( another blog will be about that self love journey). I still kept pushing through to finish and going into my second semester.

Now I am finally done with my 2nd semester of grad school, so happy to say that it ended well. This was very challenging, it wasn't as much as the course but life in general.I did really good in my studies ( clap clap) You have to celebrate your own accomplishments because you did it and others may not even know about it. This semester I have learned a lot about myself and that if you want something you have to try and go after what ever it is.

This semester I was able to be on top of my studies and able to balance school and reading books more. I have tried to stop challenging myself so hard because then I just get very overwhelmed.

This first year of grad school has taught me 3 things;

You are your own best cheer leader!

Strive to make you happy!

Make yourself proud!

Thank you for reading this and leave a comment, ask a question.

If you were in school leave your experience about your past year, if you are interested in getting your masters ask your questions.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page