top of page

Does the Way Reality Shows Portray Black Women REALLY Hinder Us?

Reality tv and how it portrays black women. Hmm...


Well, well the topic of the day.


What do I think?

I believe that it's all about perception and purpose.

I honestly didn't even watch A Different World, yet I still went to college.


I don't believe that we can say reality shows hinder our generation because we have the opportunity to go to college if we want. Regardless of what you watch. It honestly all boils down to personal choices. Just because you watch these "reality shows", it doesn't mean that they will negatively influence your goals.


Plus, these reality shows aren't even as bad as we may think.


I, myself, was in college watching reality TV shows. I have watched Basketball Wives, Bad Girls Club, and LHHATL. And I would say that even though these shows do portray black women arguing, bickering and in a bunch of drama; they also portray much more.


For example, while watching this season of LHHATL; I went back and forth with my opinion of Karlie Red. We all know she is messy, but I also notice that she DOES NOT play about her money! During the season, they showed her holding a grand opening for her SECOND store. Most people can't even get one store running successfully! So despite Karlie Red and all of her messiness, she is a go-getter.


Another person I noticed was Rasheeda. Rasheeda has always referred to herself as "boss chick". And rightfully so! She has many hustles; even while being married, and going through a couple of issues within her marriage. She hasn't let that stop her from getting her check!


Another black woman making moves on the show is, Tammy Rivera. She has always been the more chill one. She's going through stuff in her marriage, but has still preserved and launched her own swimsuit line!


But I do understand why the way these shows “hype up a certain lifestyle” isn't for everyone.

But regardless, these women I mentioned are truly go-getters. I hate that the media chooses to focus more on the drama and fighting, and less on their businesses. But isn't it just for the views?


And are they only doing this to black women? What about the Kardashians? How are they portrayed? And if there is an issue with black women being portrayed negatively in media. What do we say about the producer of love and hip hop(s) Mona Scott (a black woman)?


Should we blame her?


What I am trying to get people to see is that maybe Love and Hip Hop and A Different World are set up differently because these shows were aired during different generations. In today's society, it's not hard to look up media that shows black women are the #1 ranking race and gender within college education! (I am proudly a part of that now.)


We don't have to be negatively affected by the way they portray black women on these reality shows. We have already proved that we can do anything. We are in college! We got degrees! We got jobs!


Don't ever let society say you can't be successful and enjoy a little ratchetness (lol)


Signed,

A black educated women

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page